Home > Paleo Diet, Strength Workout > Paleo Day 30

Paleo Day 30

Monday, September 26, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, I finally finished the 30 day Paleo challenge! My attempt was definitely not strict paleo but I did successfully avoid grains for 30 days and I was pretty successful at avoiding dairy; it helped that I am lactose interolerant. I did get some dairy in the Larabars (which were all gluten free) and from the creamer in my coffee.

I did have a several lapses but these only happened when I was traveling. And yes, I should have planned ahead and prepared healthy meals. Unfortunately, I did resort to chicken mcnuggets during a long drive to my parents house after work, onion rings after a long day of hiking, and a snickers bar late at night. I wasn’t perfect.

The first thing I noticed after starting the challenge was that I didn’t feel bloated anymore. After one week, I felt great and I was no longer tempted by bread or rice. I used sweet potato as my main source of carbohydrates in the beginning and then tried and eventually started to like spaghetti squash.

I only weighed myself on work days at the same time (right after breakfast). My starting weight was 117.3 lbs and my ending weight was 116.1 lbs. My highest weight was 119.9 lbs which was after my brother’s wedding.

I must thank the Civilized Caveman for all his wonderful recipes because I relied on them for dinner and snacks throughout the challenge. His recipes are easy to follow and the result is always delicious!

I did start worrying about my energy level so finally on day 20 I bought Adam Farrah’s book “Paleo Dieter’s Missing Link”. I wish I would have bought this book earlier but I was in such a rush to start the challenge, I overlooked this valuable resource. Adam provides easy to understand advice and tools which helped me adjust my food so that I did not feel hungry and had more energy for my workouts. I also liked the fact that he emphasized tailoring the diet to my needs and that this was a continuous process of improvement instead of either total success or total failure.

4 AM Breakfast – 2 eggs, salsa, 1/2 banana, coffee
6:30 AM Coffee
7:50 AM Tea, crunch
11:15 AM Leftover crockpot chicken, red peppers, cucumbers, onions, carrots, grape tomatoes
12:30 PM Apple
2:45 PM Larabar
6:30 PM Ground chicken with onions & peppers, squash, green beans

Workout
5 x 5 C & Push-press (16 kg)

3 Rounds
20 Swings (16 kg)
5 TRX Burpee with push-up
5 Snatches (12 kg)

My weight today was 116.1 lbs.

  1. Tuesday, September 27, 2011 at 7:59 am

    “a continuous process of improvement instead of either total success or total failure.” Now THAT’S what I’m talking about!

    What specific tools did the book give you that helped you adjust your food for less hunger and more energy?

    Thanks again for the shout out!

    Adam

    • Tuesday, September 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      I used the website you listed in your book (http://nutritiondata.self.com/) to analyze my meals. I discovered that even though I was eating vegetables, I was not getting enough carbs. So, I increased my carbs. I also started to document the time I was eating my meals.

      As far as having more energy for my workouts, I ate my snack at least 1 – 1.5 hours before my workout.

  2. Tuesday, September 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Thank you so much for the shoutout and great job on your whole 30. High Five 🙂

  3. Summer Davis
    Sunday, October 23, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Cool! Thanks for sharing it with me! I need to get the book you mentioned. I am still confused at when and what I should eat.

  4. Wednesday, November 30, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    The lack of bloat was one of the biggest differences I noticed. Congrats on finishing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

