Home > Strength Workout > Training Plan #2 – Pull-ups

Training Plan #2 – Pull-ups

Thank goodness week # 6 is finally over! Losing an hour of sleep, sinus pressure from allergies, and a sick cat zapped my strength this week.

I finally had some success with 14 kg BUP walks with my left hand but I had some help from Liquid Grip. This liquid made my hands very dry and sticky – no wonder why rock climbers use it.

Liquid Grip

I will have to remember to take a bottle of this with us when we do Mahoosuc Notch on the Appalachian Trail this summer.

Trying new exercises
1. I am trying out new leg exercises to see if I can do them without any pain. Tonight I did 2 x 5 split squats while holding an 8 kg bell.

2. Hanging from pull-bar for 30 seconds

3. 3 x 10 Hanging knee raises

Categories: Strength Workout
  1. Friday, March 16, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Humm..how come I’ve never heard of Mahoosuc Notch before? Is it anything like the rock scramble at Old Rag? Hope you get to rest this weekend and recharge for the upcoming week.

    • Saturday, March 17, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Mahoosuc Notch is considered the toughest mile on the AT. I have never done it before but apparently the boulders are huge and it takes thru-hikers at least two hours to get through it. We plan on backpacking this section.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

