Home > Strength Workout > Total Body Blast, Week #4, Day 1

Total Body Blast, Week #4, Day 1

5 Total rounds – I wasn’t moving very quickly today but at least I was moving!

The New York sections that I just finished hiking we relatively easy. The trails were well maintained and the ascents/descents were pretty short.

I have another hiking trip scheduled for August in New Hampshire and Maine along the AT. These hikes will be along trails that are very rugged and the climbs and descents will be very tough, rocky, and long.

So, I know that I need to strengthen my legs! During one of the descents last week when my quads were burning, I remembered the following post titled Knee Update: Good News, and Reverse Sled Drags by Ben Bruno. Reverse sled drags help strengthen the quads without causing anterior knee pain.

Here is my home made version of a sled using plates, kettlebells, and a TRX. The total weight today was 147 lbs.

Home made sled

Home made sled

  1. Monday, May 28, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    This was definitely one of the exercises my personal trainer was having me do before the Inca Trail. Other was was step overs with a step. Stand on one leg and go forward and backwards with the opposing leg. When I was going down the thousands of stairs I recognized how much this exercise helped me.

    • Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      Thanks for suggesting step overs – I put them in my workout tonight!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

